Alter-Ciné Foundation Documentary Film Grants for African, Asian, and Latin American filmmakers

April 25, 2010

Alter-Ciné Foundation Documentary Film Grants
Regions:
Africa, Eastern Europe/Central Asia, Latin America, South Asia, South East and East Asia
Deadline Date
August 15, 2010

The Alter-Ciné Foundation offers a yearly grant to young film and video makers born and living in Africa, Asia, and Latin America to direct a documentary film on the theme of rights and freedoms, including social and economic rights, women’s rights, the right to culture, and artistic creation. The Foundation will award a grant of CDN$10,000 to a video or filmmaker to assist in the production of a documentary project. The grant is aimed at young video and filmmakers who want to direct a film in the language of their choice that respects the aims of the Foundation.

The Foundation particularly supports documentary films that, as stated on their website, “dare to go against the tide, that take the side of the defenceless and question common assumptions by giving a voice to the voiceless, enriching our understanding of the world and helping us reflect on the possibility of changing the world from a perspective of peace, justice, equality and respect for differences.”

The Alter-Cine Foundation was created in the memory of Canadian filmmaker, Yvan Patry who passed away on October 14 1999. Patry was a co-founder of the production company Alter Ciné and directed numerous documentaries and current affairs programmes in Africa, Latin America, and Asia. Patry’s documentaries, according to the Foundation, have contributed to tearing down walls of silence, denouncing injustice and barbarism, and giving voice to victims of horror.

To apply, the video/filmmaker must complete the PDF format application available here.

Contact
Alter-Ciné Foundation
5371 avenue de l’Esplanade
Montréal Québec
H2T 2Z8
Canada
Tel: 1 514 273 7136
http://altercine.org/prog_an.html
alter@mlink.net

8 Responses to “Alter-Ciné Foundation Documentary Film Grants for African, Asian, and Latin American filmmakers”

  1. Mokom Willston Muluh Says:

    Hello,

    Thanks for this innitiative. I wish take part in your project this year.I am a Cameroonian filmmaker of age 29.
    I was informed by a friend and to me sounded like the opportunity i have always want to come to.
    Nice regards

  2. CHU Ronald Says:

    Hello,

    Willston here and I have been trying in vain to download the pdf file through the link from here,Kuwait, and there in Cameroon. We’re interested in pursuing this application; we’re hoping you could email us a soft copy with much appreciation in advance.

    Kindest regards.


    • I am so sorry, but I do not have the software to do this. I am living and working in the jungles of Costa Rica with limited IT myself. I suggest you write the organization directly and ask them to send you an application in WORD format. I hope this is helpful.

      Kelly N Patterson

  3. Mohammed Says:

    Hi,
    Is it possible to apply for 2011 grant. I am a social documentary film maker in Pakistan. I have worked on several marginalized topics and communities. I have some work I can share on youtube ( Male sex worker in Paksitan, Victims of Taliban and Pak Army) , Children on streets will all be under Mohammed Anwerzada or Equinox at Dawn News Tv).
    Kinldy assist me.

  4. kannan Says:

    Hi Im interested in the docu grant, last year during my masters I made a documentary on a white Muslim convert in the UK and her life as an outsider to the Muslims and an outcast to the white christian community. It won at the Cambridge International short film festival 2011. I am keen to work on another documentary in Asia. Please contact me at my email address so that we may get in touch.Cheers


Leave a comment